College MATCH and Search

Finding the right school for you is so much more than looking at a list of ranked colleges. But where to begin? Think about making a MATCH:

M – Major
A – Activities
T – Territory
C – Cost
H – Help

Talk to your counselor about the many ways you can learn about what you want to get out of a college.  With more than 4500 schools in the US, and many more across the world, starting with some targets in mind can speed up and de-stress the process.

 

College Search Tools

Big Future – The CollegeBoard (bigfuture.collegeboard.org/college-search)
College Confidential (www.collegeconfidential.com)
Colleges That Change Lives (www.ctcl.org)
Unigo – (www.unigo.com)
Noodle (www.noodle.com)
Cappex (www.cappex.com)
College Navigator (nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator)
College View (www.collegeview.com/collegesearch/index.jsp)
ACT Profile (www.act.org/collegesearch)
College Data (www.collegedata.com)
Niche (colleges.niche.com)
Chegg (www.chegg.com/schools)
You Can Go – CollegeBoard (youcango.collegeboard.org)

Virtual Campus Tours

Campus Tours (Campustours.com)
This site readily searches out many schools but most links take you to the school’s sponsored videos or tours. But the one-stop site will let you look at more schools quicker than just going site to site.

You Visit (www.youvisit.com/colleges)
Not just limited to colleges, this site will show you an interesting range of schools with beautiful images.

eCampus Tours (eCampustours.com)
Most schools here sport about 10 videos of major campus locations, as well as links to important sites, and other useful information (ex. tuition costs, admit rates, size, etc.)

You University TV (Youniversitytv.com)
Get past the heavy ads and view a “college roadtrip” style of videos with two hosts checking out campuses. Interviews with students and faculty support some nicely done videos.

College Click TV (Collegeclicktv.com)
Current students give (rough cut, loud) interviews on tons of topics, from profressors to social life and down to food, athletics, Greek life, dorms, transportation, and just about anything else.

Fall 2016 Presentation to 11th Grade